City Calm Down

City Calm Down is a four-piece alternative pop band from Melbourne, Australia, comprising Jack Bourke on vocals and guitar, Sam Mullaly on keyboards/synthesisers, Jeremy Sonnenberg on bass guitar and Lee Armstrong on drums. The band formed in 2008 in Bourke’s bedroom after Mullaly bought a fairly mediocre digital synth. After they recruited the best drummer they knew (Michael Quirk) and the only bass player in the suburb (Sonnenberg) they pieced together some synth heavy post-punk influenced tracks and booked a show in the basement of the Esplanade Hotel, which went well enough.

In 2010 the band released its debut self-titled EP, which they produced and recorded themselves. This was followed by a double A-side release in early 2012, which saw the band sign with I Oh You records and release a second EP ‘Movements’ in late-2012. Since then, the band have toured with Alt-J, Chvrches and Bombay Bicycle Club, released another double A-side and written and recorded their debut album, which is titled ‘In A Restless House’. The album features 11 songs that focus broadly on the anxiety of modern life. It is due for release in September 2015.