Die! Die! Die!

Doused in coarse melody and resounding with electrical noise Die! Die! Die! return with their explosive new album Charm. Offensive due for worldwide release on October 6th, 2017.

Charm. Offensive. will be the band’s sixth full-length album, and their first since 2014’s Swim. It features the new single How Soon Is Too Soon (It’s Not Vintage It’s Used) which  opens the record with a thunderous scourge.

Reminiscent of the spirit and sounds of Black Flag, Pixies, the Wipers, Wire, and Bailterspace, Die! Die Die!’s unfiltered turbulence and powerful stage show has earned them a reputation as one of the most energetic and commanding bands around.

Having spent over 10 years as New Zealand’s most formidable noise-punk trio, their existence has been a kinetic one: movement, stop, movement, stop, movement.

It continues in 2017 as the band return to China in September on an 8 date tour in support of their new split 7-inch vinyl with rising Maybe Mars stars Birdstriking.

Offering up a track each, Genjing Records brings them together for the first time on one piece of wax featuring the beautiful comic art by Krish Raghav. The 7 inch features Die! Die! Die!’s single Bottle Caps And Phones (I Can’t See You) which features on Charm. Offensive.

This newest album reiterates the band’s impressive ability to instil solid melodies over, under and within all the chaos, and further establishes them as seasoned authorities on noise-rock. Charm. Offensive is a wired and frenzied collection of wrought glares and sonic punches in the face, and the follow up to Die! Die! Die!’s 2014 full length S W I M, by way of their 2015 EP What Did You Expect.

Recorded and mixed by Rory Attwell (Yuck, Male Bonding, Palma Violets) at the legendary Chicks Hotel venue in Dunedin, and mixed at Lightship95 studios in East London, Charm. Offensive. catalogues the newest chapter in the Die! Die! Die! story. One which dates back to their formation in 2003 in Dunedin.

It was soon after their formation that the band travelled to Chicago to cut their first self-titled release with legendary engineer Steve Albini, the man responsible for some of the greatest records of all time. The record sent Die! Die! Die! on a whirlwind series of tours, which translated to gaining worldwide notoriety which no band from their native Dunedin, New Zealand had seen since the eighties heyday of Flying Nun.

Fast forward to August 2007 when the trio record Promises, Promises with Shayne Carter (Straitjacket Fits, Dimmer) and Kevin McMahon (The Walkmen, Swans) in Upstate New York; then jumping ahead to 2010 which saw Die! Die! Die! as one of the first new artists contracted to the reformed Flying Nun. The record that followed was FORM, produced by label mate Nick Roughan (Skeptics), and a release that strengthened the unyielding, reckless and menacing live delivery with the bursting melodies the band is now known for.

In 2013, Die! Die! Die! self-released their fourth studio album Harmony, recorded at Blackbox Studios, France. Harmony’s raw energy and emotion offered a savant-pop drenched with DIY punk philosophy. Produced by Chris Townend (Portishead, D12, Violent Femmes), it was a striking encapsulation of Die! Die! Die!’s power.

And now in 2017 arrives a rejuvenated Die! Die! Die!, brimming with songs of breakneck sonic tension and melodic charm. There is no rehearsed set of messages, postures or stage antics: cutting to the quick, their songs and live delivery are nothing short of awe-inspiring. Without the aid of gimmicks, hype or pretence, Die! Die! Die! aim to appeal to all walks of life without alienating anyone.

Cathartic, direct, indispensable… You will know them as DIE! DIE! DIE!