Red Hot Chili Peppers

Red Hot Chili Peppers (sometimes referred to as RHCP) is an American rock band. They formed in Los Angeles, California, in 1983.

The band’s current line-up consists of Anthony Kiedis (vocals), Michael “Flea” Balzary (bass), Chad Smith (drums) and Josh Klinghoffer (guitar). The group’s musical style has fused traditional funk with elements of other genres, including punk and psychedelic rock.

The group’s original line-up featured guitarist Hillel Slovak and drummer Jack Irons. Slovak died of a heroin overdose in 1988, resulting in Irons’s departure.[2] Former Dead Kennedys drummer D.H. Peligro briefly replaced Irons before the band found a permanent replacement in Smith. Guitarist John Frusciante replaced Slovak. This line-up recorded the band’s fourth, fifth, seventh, eighth and ninth albums, Mother’s Milk (1989), Blood Sugar Sex Magik (1991), Californication (1999), By the Way (2002), and Stadium Arcadium (2006).

Blood Sugar Sex Magik, the group’s first commercial success, has sold over seventeen million copies. Frusciante grew uncomfortable with the success of the band and left abruptly in 1992, in the middle of the album tour. His use of heroin increased. After recruiting guitarist Arik Marshall to complete the tour, Kiedis, Flea, and Smith employed Dave Navarro of Jane’s Addiction for their subsequent album, One Hot Minute (1995). Although commercially successful, the album failed to match the critical or popular acclaim of Blood Sugar Sex Magik, selling less than half as well as its predecessor. Navarro left the band shortly after the album’s release. Frusciante, fresh out of drug rehabilitation, rejoined the band in 1998 at Flea’s request. The reunited quartet returned to the studio to record Californication (1999), which sold fifteen million copies ‚Äì the band’s most commercially successful album. That album was followed three years later by By the Way (2003), which was also successful. In 2006, the group released the double album Stadium Arcadium, their first number one album in America. After a world tour, the group went on an extended hiatus. Frusciante announced he was amicably leaving the band to focus on his solo career.[3] Josh Klinghoffer, who had worked both as a sideman for the band on their Stadium Arcadium tour and on Frusciante’s solo projects, joined as lead guitarist.[4] The Red Hot Chili Peppers have recently finished their tenth studio album, entitled I’m With You, which will be released on August 30, 2011 and will be their first release with Klinghoffer.

The Red Hot Chili Peppers have won 7 Grammy Awards. The band has sold over 85 million albums worldwide, charting eight singles in the Top 40 of the Billboard Hot 100 (including three in the Top 10), five number one singles on the Mainstream Rock charts, and a record of eleven number one singles on the Modern Rock charts.