McAlister Kemp

Multi-award winning Australian country music duo McAlister Kemp write, record and perform music that touches on core values, real people, great fun and great music!

Their debut album produced three #1 singles (‘All Kinds Of Tough’, ‘Hell Yeah’, ‘Hard Work’) and the duo were rewarded with a ‘Best New Talent’ Golden Guitar at the Country Music Awards of Australia and a CMC Music Award for ‘Best New Oz Artist in 2011.

McAlister Kemp have quickly established themselves as a headline main stage act at music festivals across Australia. They have performed at the prestigious CMA Music Festival in Nashville and have even opened for US country superstar Alan Jackson.

Story So Far…

McAlister Kemp is the bringing together of two talented artists in their own right – Drew McAlister and Troy Kemp. Both born and bred country boys, Drew was born in Narrabri and raised in Moree and Troy born and raised in Kempsey.

After trips to the US and Canada respectively which saw Drew collaborate with many different songwriters in Nashville, and Troy being invited to represent Tourism Australia at an event held in Canada called G’Day Toronto, they both found their way back to Australia where they met when both were cast to perform in ‘Aussie’s Walk The Line’ show, a tribute to Johnny Cash.

The pair found that not only did they gel as songwriters, but their voices blended effortlessly as a duo. The duo that is McAlister Kemp was formed.

In September 2009 after a strong recommendation from leading Australia artist Adam Brand, The duo signed a record deal with ABC Music and they proceeded to record their debut album, All Kinds Of Tough with 2011 Country Music Awards of Australia winning producer Matt Fell (Sara Storer, Butterfly 9, Damien Leith).

All Kinds Of Tough was released in January, 2010 and debuted at #8 on the ARIA Country Albums Sales Chart.

Over twelve months later, All Kinds of Tough equalled its opening week ARIA chart position as well as hitting #1 on the iTunes Country Sales charts following a national television performance of ‘Hell Yeah’ on Hey Hey It’s Saturday.

All Kinds Of Tough, in many ways sums up what McAlister Kemp are all about. Their songs touch on the core issues faced on a daily basis by everyday Australians, while maintaining that knockabout humour that so uniquely defines this nation and its people.

The album’s title track touches on the “tough” challenges we all face during the different stages of our lives.

‘All Kinds Of Tough’ (the single) reached #1 on the National Country Airplay Chart. It was followed up by the lyrically stunning, ‘It Don’t Buy You Love’, which was also a top #5 Australian country radio single.

The duo’s third single ‘Hell Yeah’ took them to the next level. ‘Hell Yeah’ was arguably the biggest Australian country hit of 2011, topping all the major country airplay charts, prompting fans to vote them 2011 CMC New Oz Artist of the Year and convincing US superstar Alan Jackson to invite them to open his sold out 2011 Australian arena tour.

McAlister Kemp followed that success with ‘Hard Work’, which again topped both the Country Radio and Music Video charts, and a performance at the CMA Music Fesitval’s Global Artist Party in Nashville USA.

Country Proud!

McAlister Kemp’s second album Country Proud, released on March 16, 2012 continues to touch on the themes typified on All Kinds Of Tough, but this time with bigger, fresher, bolder and more ambitious sound quality and production.

The album kicks off with the title track ‘Country Proud’ – an anthemic celebration of the pride associated with being both Australian and from the country. With its powerful core message, gospel backing singers and even a hint of reverse banjo, ‘Country Proud’ has become the Australian country hit of the summer!

Of the 13 tracks on the album, 11 of them are written or co-written by one or both of McAlister Kemp’s members – Drew McAlister and Troy Kemp. The duo have successfully collaborated with premier writers from both Australia and the US on this album.

“We wrote a few in Nashville and we wrote a few back here and it varied. We both co-wrote a lot of the songs together and sometimes I’d go off and write with other people and Troy would go off and write with other people, then we’d come back and meet in the middle,” says McAlister Kemp

Country Proud’s other highlights include ‘After Midnight’, which features multi-Canadian Country Music Awards & Juno Award winners Doc Walker, as well as ‘Home’ – written by Cold Chisel legend Don Walker.

McAlister Kemp’s new album Country Proud is released on March 16, 2012 through ABC Music/Universal Music Australia