White Shadows

White Shadows, the new musical project of The Vines‘ Craig Nicholls with Nick and Sam Littlemore, have announced the details of their debut album, which features a star-studded list of musical guests.

Titled Secret Of Life, White Shadows have enlisted the services of over 40 musicians for the album, including (but not limited to) Jim Moginie of Midnight Oil, Jono Ma and Gab Winterfield of Jagwar Ma, Warpaint‘s Stella Mozgawa, Touch Sensitive, Kirin J Callinan, and Boy & Bear.

Helping Craig, Nick, and Sam enlist the all-star roster was legendary producer Nick Launay, who ranked his time with White Shadows at Sydney’s 301 studios as “one of [his] most favourite sessions ever.”

We had young punks, an older jazz musician, keyboards, marimbas, stylophones. We had a string section, kodo drums – one of the biggest I’ve ever recorded, about seven feet tall,” Launay says in a statement.

We had an Egyptian singer. We had a child soprano, I think he was 12 or 14. It was crazy. Craig was running around very excited like he couldn’t believe it.”

White Shadows was formed around a collection of lo-fi songs The Vines frontman had written that were originally intended for a solo acoustic record.

Enter Empire of the Sun/PNAU‘s Nick Littlemore, who stumbled across an interview with Nicholls in which he voiced a desire to create an “electronic Fantasia” record.

Attached to the idea, he enlisted his brother Sam (aka Sam La More, co-producer to Peking Duk and Parachute Youth) and approached Craig.

“I thought it would be so cool to make an electronic record with someone with such a wild, colourful voice,” Littlemore says.

We got in touch and it turned out he had this collection of songs he’d written … We wanted to make a transcendental experience something that takes you out of the norm, which to me is what his voice does — make music to match that oversaturated feeling.”

The first of their results was lead single ‘Get Up Give Out Give In’ and we’ll get to hear the results when White Shadows’ debut Secret of Lifeis released April 10 (via Wicked Nature Music/MGM Distribution).

According to a press release, other tracks include “grand opener ‘Sun’; the regret laced marimba-tinged rave-up of ‘Slip Away’; [and] summery jam ‘Everyday’.”

White Shadows also state there will be no tour or interviews attached to the album.


VIA The Abc