Writers’ Bloc 2015 I Bakehouse Studios

September 21st to 25th saw Bakehouse Studios host the inaugural Mushroom Music Publishing Writers’ Bloc. A week where some of Australia’s most compelling songwriters come together under one roof to collaborate, the Writers’ Bloc has proven itself an incredibly fruitful and inspiring source of new songs. The invitational event has seen the creation of a number of songs that have since seen formal release and created lasting relationships between songwriters.

The songwriting camp ran over 5 days and featured 37 songwriters, 5 studios, 2 engineers and 4 staff. Artists such as Gordi, Adalita, Jess Kent, Client Liaison, The Preatures, Pierce Bros and many more came together in pairs and trios to collaborate. The artists approached the experience with a sense of excitement, adventure and a healthy dose of competitiveness that made for an extremely productive week and a staggering number of top-tier songs at the week’s conclusion.

Melbourne’s The Bakehouse seemed the only appropriate location given the sheer quantity of creative talent in the room at one time and the Mushroom Group’s decades long love affair with Melbourne music. One of the city’s great secret locations, the studio has been host to arthouse tastemakers and rock royalty alike, having seen the likes of artists such as The Avalanches, Nick Cave, Sufjan Stevens and Tame Impala make use of its space. There could be no more fitting a home for an event like the Writers’ Bloc.

We are immensely proud of the quality of the music and the comradery and new friendships developed over the five days.


Jess Kent

Adam Spark (Birds of Tokyo)

Liam McGorry (Saskwatch & Dorsal Fins)

Alex Grigg (Palms)

Davey Lane

Melody Pool

Mia Wray

Jarrad Brown (Eagle & The Worm, Dorsal Fins)

Gypsy & The Cat



Geoffrey O’Connor


Mo Komba

Slum Sociable

Mike Waters

Pat Pierce (Pierce Brothers)

Amy & Hannah Findlay (Stonefield)

Jack Moffitt (The Preatures)

Client Liaison

Ella Thompson

Fraser A. Gorman

Joel Quartermain (Eskimo Joe)

Stephen Mowat

Sam Lockwood (The Jezabels)

Shane Parsons (DZ Deathrays)

Joe Agius (The Creases)

Eden Mulholland

Thomas Oliver

Jerome Farah (Jakubi)


Joel Silbersher (GOD)

Photos by Lisa Businovski